About Us

Destination North Coast (DNC) is one of seven Destination Networks (DNs) in regional NSW, established by the NSW Government to improve regional stakeholder engagement and better support the visitor economy of regional NSW.

The North Coast NSW region comprises 14 local government areas (LGAs) being MidCoast, Port Macquarie Hastings, Kempsey, Macksville/Nambucca, Bellingen, Coffs Harbour, Clarence Valley, Richmond Valley, Kyogle, Lismore, Ballina, Byron Bay, the Tweed and Lord Howe Island.

Destination North Coast is the destination manager and facilitates visitor economy growth through effective representation and coordination of the region’s tourism industry. Our priorities are outlined in the North Coast Destination Management Plan 2022-2030 (DMP) and align with the objectives, strategies, and commitments of the NSW Government’s NSW Visitor Economy Strategy 2030 (VES).

Tourism delivers 10.8% of our region’s jobs, supports 8,457businesses and directly delivers 5.9% of our region’s Gross Value Add (GVA) which has grown every year since 2010/11 at an average 2.5% pa.(Value of Tourism to North Coast 2022).

Our Board

DNC is led by a board of 5 skills-based Directors. They are:

John ONeill

John O’Neill

Read Bio

Harry Barry

Read Bio
Meredith Wray

Dr Meredith Wray

Read Bio
julie stewart

Julie Stewart

Read Bio
Margaret Shannon

Margaret Shannon

Read Bio

The Team

Michael Thurston

Michael Thurston

General Manager
0409 982 913

Jacquie Burnside

Industry Engagement Manager
0409 883 450

Heath Batterham

Business Events Executive
0432 630 120

Kerry Bryant

Business Events Executive
0414 464 550

Donna McIntyre

Project and Administration Coordinator
0499 702 510

Our Partner

Destination North Coast is proudly supported by Destination NSW.